Designing Rooms for Children

July 20, 2012

 

Decorating children’s rooms and nurseries can seem daunting at first, because they’re restrictive in that they must have certain functional elements such as a change table, cot etc but they can be some of the most exciting spaces that you’ll ever work on and they’re an opportunity to be really creative with colour and design.

 

I personally love designing rooms for children because I have the opportunity to be really whimsical which is something that I don’t often get the chance to do when designing for adults.

 

I find the main constraint when working with kids rooms is budgetary. For the current project I’m working on I have a total design budget of $500 for two rooms (this figure is for decorative items only). Through working on this project I’ve discovered that a great way to provide impact for very little cost is with the use of wall decals. These are not only a low cost option but are able to be removed as the child outgrows the design and/or the usage of the room changes.

 

I found a huge range of decals on etsy and decals will be featuring heavily in my current project and I look forward to sharing it with you in the near future. In the meantime, you should definitely check out etsy (www.etsy.com/) – it’s well worth the look 🙂

ImageImageImageImageImage

One Response to “Designing Rooms for Children”

  1. kids rooms are so much fun – the wall decals look fantastic!

Leave a Reply

